Cross-posts: Privacy implications of Google Buzz

I’m cross-posting these links here.  This past week on SCOTXblog, I wrote a series of posts about the privacy implications of using Google Buzz.

The first post was aimed at lawyers, bloggers, journalists, and others who have a special concern about people being able to communicate with them in confidence. Buzz’s pre-populated and pre-published follower lists threatened to expose those confidences.  I have been overwhelmed (as was my server, a time or two) by the response.

As the story developed over the next few days, I posted tips about how to disable Google Buzz (before Google put their own disable button into Gmail) and a personal response to Google’s much-touted apology.

At a gut level, what bothered me about Buzz is captured by this snippet from Kontra (which I saw on Daring Fireball):

Google is a $170 billion company. It employs thousands of engineers and developers. It tests, tests, tests, and tests more. In fact, its “designers” once unable to pick a shade of blue tested 41 variations of it. It’s ludicrous to think that the Buzz fiasco was simply a result of under-testing.

Until Google recognizes — and truly respects — some distinction between our data and theirs, the Buzz fiasco will not be the last.

Why am I cross-posting my own law blog posts here?

I started blogging on a purely legal blog, with a focus on the Supreme Court of Texas (SCOTXblog).  That’s deeply related to my work as an appellate lawyer, and the blog has been a success.

I have sometimes posted about internet law, legal technology, or technology in general (filtered through a legal perspective).  I enjoy those topics and want to participate in those conversations, but they rarely have fit the mold of SCOTXblog.

This week, I really wished I had a separate platform not so entangled with my day job (handling Texas appellate cases).  On the other hand, I appreciate that my Buzz-related posts were distributed so quickly because my law blog already has an established and loyal readership.

So it goes.  Cross-posting is my latest experiment in how to talk about technology without disrupting my other blog’s more traditional legal readers.

1 Comment

Filed under Privacy

One response to “Cross-posts: Privacy implications of Google Buzz

  1. A shift in our society has occurred the past few years. We have gone from fearing the security of the internet to anything/everything goes, your nobody unless everything about you is transparent. There is little to no digital hygiene that is of any concern with many of the nets younger users. This is all they have known since High School, so it must be safe, secure, and no problem. I don’t know where this all nets out for privacy and society. Caution is still necessary, storage is unlimited and cheap and everything is connected.

Leave a Reply

